XSworld

By XSworld

Bolero

I had a long walk by the river this morning and when the sun came out briefly I couldn't resist to photograph the goose willow. Again! I just think that with this light, the moment in which the willow explodes into flowering is so special. While walking I got very aware of the synchronization of the flowering plants. It is as if some supreme voice calls out  or intricated roots system of plants placed miles apart communicate to each plant that now is its turn, and within a couple of days every specimen of that species starts blooming. It made me think of Boléro, the orchestral work by Ravel, where the instruments are introduced one by one to repeat the song's theme, and with every instrument the music gets louder and louder until it explodes into a full orchestral fireworks...much like spring, where one by one the species awake and start flowering, slowly in the beginning and then gradually more intense... before you know it spring is there in all its amazing fragrances and colours.

P.s.
Today it is 25 years since I left Iceland with 2 suitcases for a one year experience abroad. 3 countries, 4 cities, 2 new languages, a university degree, a husband and two children later and I'm still experiencing the abroad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.