My Valley

It looked lovely in the early (not too early) light. Since then the day has gradually deteriorated with strong winds and then rain. We went out to do some shopping this morning but I've not been out apart from that. My blip is an early shot across the river.

I always find that returning home after a trip leaves my spirits low. I'm always pleased to be home but the enjoyment of being in different places gives me a buzz that's no longer there when I get home. 

It would be easy to say that my Iceland trip was a series of disasters. That might be true, certainly our carefully made plans were shot to pieces but it's how you modify your plans that dictates whether a trip is a success or not. Maybe we weren't brave enough, maybe if we were younger we'd have been more willing to take risks but we're not and who knows what the results of being braver might have been. We were better off being stuck in Reykjavik than being stuck in Stykkisholmur. If we'd got blown off the road on the way to Nupar, what would have been the result. I think with the circumstances as they were, we had a very successful trip and it was certainly a very enjoyable one, even if we weren't able to do as much as we'd planned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.