The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Turdus philomelus ...

I very nearly blipped the letter I received from Hull NHS Voluntary Services refusing to take my mum to her art group (or anywhere else), as the last time she had a lift she was sick in the volunteer's car (one strike and you're out, apparently!) It was the ninth lift she's had, and had been fine for the others.

Here's the letter - though it looks very vague - she said the real reasons in her phone call rather than in the letter - very cunning.

And my (edited) reply ..

Dear Cxxxxx,

Re : Bxxxx Art Group

I acknowledge receipt of the letter you sent to my mum, Joan Bxxx, advising her that she is no longer welcome to use the transport supplied by voluntary services.

Mum would like to continue attending the art group - and I will deliver and collect her myself.

After you rang me on Tuesday (and we spoke at length) I was left with the impression that you would see if you had a 'more sensitive' volunteer driver who would be willing to help. I see this isn't the case. (I also note that your letter was written before our conversation?)

Mum had previously used your volunteer service four times (return journeys) previously -


Jan 24th Driven by Gina Incident free there and back

Feb 7th Driven by Gina Incident free there and back

Feb 21st Driven by Gina Incident free there and back

March 7th Minibus Incident free there and back (though felt a little queasy)

It seems remarkably harsh to effectively ban her from using volunteer transport based on one incident in nine journeys.

Mum is only likely to be ill if she is anxious, it's a long, windy journey or the driver has poor road skills and drives jerkily.

Mum really enjoys the art group and was therefore not anxious, but looking forward to it. It's a very short journey on a relatively straight road. However in spite of neither of us anticipating a problem I duly dosed her with Joy Rides tablets and gave her her travel sickness wrist bands to wear.

I am sorry she was sick in the driver's car. He made it very clear that he more concerned about the leather interior of his car than the welfare of my mum.

Perhaps volunteer drivers should anticipate the occasional 'accident' when ferrying elderly, frail people around.

Some years ago mum was given an award by Hull City Council in recognition of years of hard work providing the Leisure Day service at Portobello Methodist Church. Over the years hundreds of people enjoyed the various and varied classes and talks she organised. It's ironic that we now find that when she requires some social support it's offered, accepted, enjoyed and then taken away again because of one bout of car sickness.
 
One day those concerned may need help. Good luck to them.

Mum is clean, dresses appropriately, doesn't behave in an anti-social manner. She benefits from the group and enjoys it.  She seems like the perfect group member to me.

I will bring her to the next art group on Thursday April 18th.



I am seething about it - particularly because the man whose car it was, was FAR more concerned about the leather interior of his bloody car than the welfare of my mum ..

Sorry to use this as a soapbox, but I'm so incensed by their attitude. The driver clearly just wants to make himself feel good, rather than actually giving a toss about the people he's ferrying around. You might think he'd anticipate the occasional accident of one sort or another when driving frail, elderly people around.

Mum enjoys the art group - it took a lot of persuasion to get her to go in the first place .. and it is quite literally the only place she goes (other than hospital appointments)

No wildlife spotted today - except some lovely garden birds - mostly busy, building nests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.