North of the Tyne under the stars

Such a varied and good day. I used the 6 limes Val gave me, plus two old Clementines and a couple of lemons to make up the weight for Jan Harling’s 15 minute marmalade. It’s delicious.

Then I headed out for a quick walk which turned into 6.5 miles round the moor and Blue Mill. The anticipated rain did not happen so I just kept going which meant lunch didn’t happen till gone 2.

I suggested to Mr C we should go into town for the North of the Tyne under the stars light show. He’s not that keen on being surprised by my sudden impulses but he got his head round it and off we went. The Claremont Road car park was free after 6 and so was the event which started at 6.30. It was all so good. We took #3 daughter’s advice and started with Hyem because she said there were long queues for it last night. One of the marshals also pointed us in that direction. Hyem is local dialect for home and it told the story of the north of the Tyne in a walkway of changing colours, sound and images. We then went to the storytelling show which was quite political, pointing out how some had made riches on the work and hardships of the poor in the mines and shipyards. The next show was on the front of the Hancock museum, Anthro Zoo, journeying into the zoology of their collection. Then on to city Hall for the Tyne River God, Lindisfarne gospels, Swan light bulbs, and even the Hoppings. A fantasy for children was on the front of Blackwell bookshop which we skipped to get to the City Baths Meadow Wall, taking us on a journey from Northumbrian dunes to the Kielder forest. It was magical and enchanting. And gave me another 2 miles of walking to help me on my way to John O Groats. 272 miles done now. Only 602 left!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.