Pussy Willows

I was determined to at least get outside today. Not that it's any nicer ...39F (4C)...and overcast, but I'm tired of being holed up. Like a hibernating bear (and almost as grumpy.)

There are only 2 things blooming here. Crocuses and pussy willows. The tulips aren't too far behind, but no flowers yet.

I had my second softball throw today. We got smarter, and decided to throw indoors at a local church gym. It went much better. I still short-armed a few, but overall...felt much better.

After throwing for 15-20 minutes, I decided to join the 3 walkers that were circling the gym. Back and forth...or...around and around.

I outlasted all three. I then decided to break into my race walker walk. You know the one...the one that makes you look like a crazed stork on drugs. Arms a-swinging, knees a-flying, head a-bobbin. Goofy looking.

Years ago...during my running days...2 friends and I went to Mackinac Island for an 8 mile race. It was a time where I was running fairly fast...maybe 7 minute miles.

I was in the last half mile...when I was passed by a race walker. "NO WAY WAS A WALKER GOING TO BEAT A WELKER...WHILE I WAS RUNNING!! But...beat me he did. I couldn't catch him.

Come to find out...he was on the American Olympic Team as a race-walker. That should have made me feel better, but it didn't. I forget his name...Gary something. The dude could walk.

Walking inside...following the lines...is kinda boring. But...it was warm AND dry...and that felt good.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.