Down Memory Lane

The lane here being Correction Wynd, so called because there was a 'House of Correction' for vagrants and delinquents between 1637 and 1711 giving lodging and employment within the Cloth Trade. Steps lead down to Correction Wynd from Union Street opposite the building. The ground level of Correction Wynd still follows the Medieval street plan of the city.

Connected to the history of lane, I lived here for a few months when I first came to Aberdeen. I stayed at the house in the centre of the photograph. Very convenient as it has parking and is right in the centre of the city. At the time there was also a "Tesco City" branch on one side, and the Prince of Wales pub, one of the most famous in Aberdeen, was about 50 yards in the other direction. I moved on and so did Tesco, though the pub remains. The living room overlooked the churchyard of St Nicholas Kirk. I never saw any ghosts, though the odd rabbit or squirrel could be observed from time to time.

Surprising there is no blue plaque commemorating the time I spent here. Maybe I should arrange for one myself.

The apartment had a new washing machine which caught fire shortly after we moved in. Luckily my wife was in at the time, the fire department sent three appliances which arrived very promptly. There was no significant damage to the apartment.

It so happened I was in the pub with a friend and was unaware of the drama, though I had seen the fire engines as I returned from work. I called my wife from the pub to suggest she join us. She said she was unable to do so as the apartment was full of firemen. I replied in that case she could join us when they had gone, which she did. The fire must have been such a shock I managed to avoid being informed I might think about coming to assist her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.