The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Wayzgoose Printers' Fair, Thrupp

I spent the morning in Cheltenham, breakfasting at the hotel then looking for discounted jigsaws in a fabulous stationer's shop that's closing down. Many big names have left, or are leaving Cheltenham, to my sorrow.

Caught the bus back to Stroud, walked home, and hung around a bit waiting for CS to be ready to accompany me to the printers' fair at the Brewery Inn, in Thrupp, near Stroud. This turned out to be a wonderful event, but by the time we got there I didn't feel like being in crowds and chatting. Maybe I hadn't slept as well as I'd hoped at the hen-party hotel in Cheltenham. I had a cursory browse, then went out to the car and my podcasts. Started reading my book again, Winter by Ali Smith.

After we'd driven home, I caught up with a couple of chores, then took to bed with my book for a quick nap. Woke up and finished the entire book, almost without a pause. It's so engrossing, not an easy read by any means. Now I want the next two in the quartet, Spring and Summer. I am trying not to buy books at the moment because I have so many, but I'll certainly look out for these in the charity shops or library.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.