Living my dream

By Mima

Peachy-beachy

My colonography results are in: minor diverticulitis and nothing major to worry about. Hurray!

I asked the clinic nurse about self-management and she recommended a high fibre diet. I laughed out loud. Also low amounts of alcohol (more laughter: I don’t drink), plenty of exercise (yet more laughter), maintaining a sensible weight (and yet more), and finally plenty of fluids throughout the day. Now, there’s something I can improve.

She also gave me some handy tips about how to manage my gut if / when I feel another episode starting which is really useful.

It’s a relief to know that nothing serious is going on down there.

Bean and I celebrated with a walk round Kakanui Point after the weekly shopping trip to town. It was beautiful by the ocean. We sat on the beach for a while in wonderful solitude, watching the waves whoosh up the shingle and birds passing by on their way to the river mouth.

The main shot is looking south..well, it’s looking at Bean, but beyond her is south. The extra is northwards into the sun.

After lunch and back at home I got stuck into cleaning out and pressure-hosing the chook coop. It was a wet and filthy job for a sunny day. Before I jumped into the shower there was grass to cut (more like hay).

I called it a day when Bean reminded me for the ‘n’th time that it was her dinner time. She’s such a handy alarm clock. It was my dinner time too.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.