By Himself

By Himself

Water wheel - Bantry

Friday is Fair Day ('Market Day') in Bantry where I do the shopping for the week. Photographic opportunities abound and those of you who follow Herself's (aka freespiral's) journal will have seen pictures from here already. I bet it won't be long before we both choose the same blip subject on the same day!

It would be good to capture more of the personalities around the market, but some are quite touchy about being snapped because Revenue officials have been known to lurk looking for evidence of dodgy deals.

This is the water wheel at the top of Bantry. I think I am correct in saying that it once powered a linen mill. It has been restored and at one time there was talk of it being put to use to power the computers in the adjacent library - but nothing came of that.

I am interested in vernacular typography - and there is a lot in Bantry, so I may just start a Friday spot of shops and signs - or I may not. Finding my own areas of blip-interest is taking more thought than I expected - and I wouldn't want to risk invading herself's blip territory would I?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.