By Himself

By Himself

My Father's paints

An indoor shot because the weather is foul today.

This is my late Father's watercolour paintbox and a roll of his brushes. I have made good use of the paintbox for more than ten years but I keep the dark-blue felt roll the way it was when he left it because the brushes, pencils and other bits and pieces seem so personal. The half-pans of colour have all been replaced several times but I like to think the lid still retains some of the mixing he did.

Watercolour is 'my' medium - and although I now use acrylic paints I tend to use them as a watercolourist would, and I still prefer paper to canvas. Purists would say it was cheating but acrylics allow me to overlay colours more easily. But nothing matches the intensity of real watercolours and I love this little box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.