First 'French Quarter' coffee of 2022

The sun was out today, and although we still needed coats, we enjoyed our coffee in the garden. That was at 10.30. Earlier, before work, we walked to the allotment and then on round the block. Something we keep promising to do daily, but generally it peters out by Tuesday or Wednesday.

Work was generally OK. I did what was necessary, and caught up with a few people. At lunchtime I got a lovely surprise through the post. A lovely thank you card from a friend, together with a beautiful bundle of fat quarters. I was intrigued to know how I warranted such a kind gift, and it turns out a chat we had at a social evening before Christmas about pensions, led to her being able to plan a much earlier retirement date than she had originally thought possible. I am delighted that my knowledge of the LGPS was able to help her, and it was so nice to receive this appreciation. So thank you Tina :-) I have several bags planned...but I may not be able to part with them, the fabric is so nice!!

Cooked tea while chatting to mum on facetime. I lit a fire, but didn't keep an eye on it, so it isn't doing much now, but we are coping without the heating on, and when I read the meter yesterday, I'm expecting a bill about a third less than last month.

I've felt quite well today, although just now my head is aching and I feel tired. I'm pretty sure it's my wretched hormones and whatever HRT I try is OK for a while, but not perfect. I really hope that one day I get to feel normal again, but I fear it may not be for another 5 to 10 years...I've read menopause can last 15 years, so that's bound to be me!

Im going to read a bit, and then an early night is needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.