Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

I KNEW It!!

Well, that’s decided then - it’s a Staycation for me!! (The American definition of an American word - ‘to vacation at HOME’!)

No wonder I’ve felt so rubbish the last few days! I’ve suspected the whole time that I really had covid! I’ve been testing at home every day because I’d heard that some people with symptoms have had several negative tests before it finally registered as positive. Today was day five and as I set up the test I told myself I was being ridiculous and that this would be the last time. And look what happened! Well, we’ve been told that the lateral flow tests are not as accurate for negative results as they are for positive results, so I’m glad I kept testing.

I felt particularly unwell yesterday after a bad nights sleep, but really, this is just like a bad cold. Not as bad as the flu. I’m certainly glad I’ve been double-vaccinated and boosted! I slept better last night but still felt yucky this morning. I’ve improved a bit during the day and I’ve had a good appetite throughout. A neighbour brought me a big bag of crisps (chips for my American friends!), as I was craving the salt for my sore throat!

So I’m on vacation. I didn’t really have any plans so I guess I might as well have covid now. The weather is supposed to be great all week and I had thought maybe I could get away in Alfie the Campervan, but at least it will be nice to enjoy some time in the sun in my back garden! My neighbour’s fallen down fence from storm Eunice was replaced yesterday so I can relax in the privacy of my garden. I shall self-isolate until I get a couple of negative tests, and hopefully I’ll be over this before I go back to work next week. My part-time lodger (Mon-Fri only) has wisely decided to stay with some local friends this week instead of mingling with me!

I’m grateful for so many things:
A safe place to live!
Plenty of food in the cupboards, fridge and freezer!
The privilege of being fully vaccinated!
Time off work!
A garden to enjoy in the sun!

Thinking and praying for those who have so little, especially those caught up in the war in Ukraine. Praying for peace!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.