Belvedere Mill, Chalford

I drove to Brimscombe to pick up Woodpeckers from her second job of the day. I hoped she might like to go another two miles up the valley of the river Frome to Chalford. I just had the feeling that I wanted to blip Belvedere Mill and its mill pond.

She agreed although did eventually remind me that at the end of a long and busy working week that what she really wanted was a cup of tea. I parked beside the mill pond and we walked over the small road bridge to where there was a carpet of daffodils on the far bank. When the trees are clothed in leaves this view becomes very limited, so I was glad to record this view.

There was only one white duck, who waddled through the daffodils to see if we had any food. Normally I see many ducks and moorhens and it seemed sadly quiet as a result. Perhaps the rather noisy vehicle traffic crossing the bridge to go up to Minchinhampton Common disturbs them. We certainly were.

The air was warmer despite there being so little sunlight penetrating through the low cloud cover, and perhaps soon all the pent up energy of spring will transform into blossoms and new growth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.