CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Zebrina and tulip

I've wanted to photograph the zebrina cutting now that it has come into flower and before I cut it back to make it bush. I gathered some gear in the fading light under the rainy skies of early evening.

I joined it up with a tulip brought in from the patio that is struggling to open its budding flower. I've also grown these rather tatty leaves of lemon grass from fresh stems I bought for flavouring my tofu last autumn. I'm excited to see if I can increase its size by nurturing it through the spring and summer, getting to know it as a plant. I love its presence and the fragrance and taste of the cut stems. I might even try to make tea from it as well as the lemon verbena that hopefully will resurface in the garden soon.

I want to try experimenting with my exposures, exploring the range of tones, learning as much as possible about light. That should keep me busy.


Worth looking at it large.

Tradescantia zebrina, formerly known as Zebrina pendula, is a species of spiderwort more commonly known as an inch plant or wandering jew, native to the Gulf Coast region of eastern Mexico.

Tradescantia zebrina has attractive zebra-patterned leaves, the upper surface showing purple new growth and green older growth parallel to the central axis, as well as two broad silver-colored stripes on the outer edges, with the lower leaf surface presenting a deep uniform magenta.

It is commonly available and used as a houseplant and groundcover. Propagated by cuttings, this plant can be moved or manipulated easily as its runners cling lightly to the ground (if used as cover). It tends to become an Invasive species if not properly maintained. It is used in southeast Mexico in the region of Tabasco, as a cold herbal tea, which is named Matali. Also used as a lubricant in China.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.