Attitude

I haven't seen Goldcrests in our garden for several years, but yesterday I spotted one foraging in the front garden hedge, and today there was a remarkably bold male singing in our neighbour's Monterey Cypress, which is right on our boundary. I spent some time motionless, watching him. He was surprisingly bold and at one point was less than a metre from me. This is the UK's smallest bird, but certainly has plenty of attitude!

As it was a beautiful spring day I went for an afternoon walk round Ferry Meadows. The first Bluebell was open on the south-facing slope of Bluebell Wood, though at this site they always flower several weeks earlier than anywhere else locally. I spent some quality time with the Kingfisher pair who were zooming about energetically and frequently  calling to each other. If the Goldcrest hadn't been so obliging, the male Kingfisher in extras would have been my blip!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.