This is the day

By wrencottage

Muscari

After the euphoria of yesterday, when the amazing birdsong I could hear with my new hearing aids moved me to tears, today has been something of a let down. 

I have felt so very tired; everything is new to me, from where to keep my hearing aids charging overnight, to how to put them in and how to comb my hair without pulling them out! I have felt all fingers and thumbs, which is a bit frustrating, and have also become quite stressed by the extraneous noises I can hear, mostly when wearing them indoors. I am going back to see the audiologist tomorrow so she can tweak the settings, but in the meantime I’m having a rest from them every so often to give me a chance to acclimatise to them. I’m sure I’ll get used to them, and I’m delighted to have them, but hadn’t allowed for how tired (and old!) I would feel at first.

Nothing much to blip today, so I just walked round the garden and decided the grape hyacinths deserved their moment of fame. There are lots of little nods in my garden to special places or events in our life, and these are no exception. I planted them en masse in the back garden underneath an ancient oak and ash tree. They can just be glimpsed across the lawn behind a mixed bed of azaleas and other shrubs. I wanted to give the impression of a bluebell wood such as those that we walk through on our beloved Lake District holidays – and it works! There wouldn’t be room for wild bluebells but these do the job brilliantly and create a tiny patch of beautiful blue blooms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.