This is the day

By wrencottage

Herdy Mugs

A day of mixed emotions. I have been busy making birthday cards today. Then this afternoon I went to have my hearing aids ‘tweaked’, which made such a difference; now the crackle has almost gone. I’ve also had one of the ear buds changed for a smaller one, which was much more comfortable, and have been advised to limit wearing the aids to short periods to start with, gradually increasing the time I keep them in, until my brain has adjusted to them.  

Later this afternoon I was delighted to learn that two dear friends of mine have now joined Blip, which absolutely made my day. I have so enjoyed the last couple of months since I joined Blip, and my husband is thrilled to bits to see how happy it makes me. He has designated himself as my ‘co-blipper’ and comes up with ideas for photos, and regularly asks to see my journal entries and comments, and mentions some of my followers by name. 

But, oh, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the unfolding and worsening horrors in Ukraine, and it still feels wrong that we are able to enjoy a peaceful life and appreciate the beauty of Spring unfolding all around us (for those in the northern hemisphere) while our neighbours are suffering agonies at the hands of their country’s aggressive invaders. When will it all end?

Today’s photo is an emergency blip taken in the kitchen this evening. We love our Herdy mugs from the Lake District, and they make for a colourful photo. Personally, I prefer to drink my tea and coffee in plain white cups and saucers, but I do love having the mugs on display. Herdies are very special.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.