BJH

By BJH

Conversation with an egg

I managed to stop at the artificial island for a short while this afternoon before riding to the sanctuary. We'd had a few brief showers earlier but it had brightened up somewhat before I left the house and the sun even broke through the clouds just when I arrived at the island. Unfortunately this made it quite difficult to get any good photos of the Great Crested Grebes and their nest because the sun comes from the opposite side from where I have to stand to photograph them so I was actually glad when the sun disappeared again .

One of the Grebes was sitting on the nest and the other one kept getting closer when I got off my bicycle. This usually means that they are about to trade places and this is exactly what happened a few minutes after I got the camera out of my bag. Perhaps I was imagining this but it looked like the Grebe that took the other one's place on the nest was talking to one of the eggs before it sat down on them.

There was a very strong wind again today which often made it very hard to keep my bicycle moving forward. My knees felt quite sore when I got home, to the point even that I've had to put on my elastic knee supports this evening. I haven't checked the weather forecast yet but I really hope that we will soon have some less windy days.

Tomorrow is bound to be very busy as my brother is coming over again from Berchem to eat lunch with us.


Thank you very much for the kind comments and stars on my horse chestnut blip from yesterday. I apologise for not replying to them individually but I do read each one and appreciate them all very much. :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.