CreativeCarol

By CreativeCarol

Get back here Wilbur!

Early this morning I meet up with my friend Terry who also watches her two granddaughters. We have play dates for our granddaughters, who are the same age, about every two weeks. Most of the time we go to the park or just let them play together, but sometimes we have special outings. Today we drove across the bay to visit the Florida Aquarium in Tampa.

The girls loved seeing all the colorful fish, watching the sharks, eels, and sting rays being feed their breakfast. The Touch Tank was a highlight. They loved getting to put their hands in tanks and touching things like starfishes.

One of the exhibits was the wetlands trail. You go through a spectacular glass dome that is home to freshwater fish, otters, and alligators. From there the freshwater springs to swamps and mangrove forests. We stopped to look at these Roseate Spoonbills. I have always loved seeing them as they are so pretty. Even though they were in captivity, I wanted to take a photo of them. But I was not ready for what happened next.

This one started to fly at Moira in her stroller as I taking it's picture! I did not expect to have a bird with a large beak to fly at us in the exhibit! I am so grateful, for whatever the reason was ,that the other bird did not want him to leave! He had a good clamp down on the Spoonbill's leg. We very quickly left this exhibit to another safer one!

It was a very nice day to share with my friend and have the girls develop a friendship as well. Our next outing will be a little more calmer adventure. Moira is sleeping and I am tired as well. Think I will take a little nap.

If you can stand another bird joke, here is one of my favorites!

A burglar crept into a dark house and as he crossed the room he heard a voice say, "JESUS IS WATCHING YOU!" He froze in his tracks and waited. He started walking again, and again the voice came "JESUS IS WATCHING YOU". Finally the burglar's eyes adjusted to the dark and with great relief he saw a parrot in a cage in the corner. "What's your name," he asked the parrot. "Bonzo" said the parrot. "Who gave you that stupid name" sneered the burglar. "The same guy who named the Rottweiller Jesus."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.