Hyperion

By Hyperion

River Flow

This afternoon I followed the course of the old railway from Plymbridge to Bickleigh in West Devon. Trains once steamed through this steep, wooded valley, through narrow cuttings and across several impressive stone viaducts. The edges of the corridor cut through the trees now supports a range of plants and flowers. Amongst the dogs mercury, primroses and celandines I found a couple of early wood anemones in flower. In places the pointed leaves of bluebells and the more bulbous leaves of wild garlic were beginning to form a green carpet, that later in the year will turn blue and white. There are a lot more birds active in the trees now and I saw my first mistle thrush and treecreeper of the year. I walked back along the path by the river where I took this image. I used a slow shutter speed to blur the water, while trying to hold the camera steady to keep the overhanging twig as sharp as possible. I am not sure if this is really a good blip photo as it really needs to be viewed on a large screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.