Colstro

By Colstro

Thundridge Old Church

As I was driving through Hertfordshire today, I decided to stop and investigate another section of the Hertfordshire Way long distance path, which I became aware of a week ago.

I stopped at Thundridge, which is on the leg of the walk between Hertford and Widford, where it crosses the River Rib. I followed the path where it leaves Thundridge, heading towards Cold Christmas (yes - there really is a place in Hertfordshire called Cold Christmas!). The path led down beside the river along "Old Church Lane". Some distance from the village, with no vehicular access, is the remains of the old church. All that stands now is the tower - the rest of the church was demolished in 1853 and nothing remains of it. The graveyard is neglected, with broken gravestones, and the tower itself is in a sad state with notices warning of falling masonry.

There are reports that the church, originally built around 1100, is haunted. Maybe people have seen the face in this picture - which, surprisingly, I didn't notice until I looked at the image on the display on the back of my camera! The mono conversion does highlight the face and disguises some of the later graffiti painted over the top of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.