Beloved

I didn't see Margie last week because she was in the hospital for shortness of breath. Today she insisted by phone that she was fine, but when I got to her lobby, I phoned her. She came down on the elevator and I said, "Margie, you look wonderful," and she answered, "I wish I felt as good as you think I look." It became instantly clear that she was not up to a walk in the cold air, so I insisted we go up to her apartment.  I made this photo in the elevator as we were riding up. We took off our masks once we were inside, and then I went out and got coffee at our usual place and brought it back to her.

Extra is Margie holding forth from her chair above the urban center of our city. At center is her little terrace garden with hummingbird feeder.

"I am diminishing," she said, frankly. And then added, "Well, at 95, what can you expect?"

We decided that in future we'll meet on Thursday afternoons. She says her energy is a little better in the afternoon.

I've turned off comments because there is very little to say, really. I know she has a huge fan-base on Blipfoto. I know you wish her well. Those of you who pray will be praying, and those of us who meditate will be grateful that in this moment, all is well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.