St.Patrick's Day

Today is St Patrick Day.  Here is a story  when I was an exchange student at the School of the Art Institute in Chicago and staying in a women’s hostel.
 On the morning of St Patrick’s Day I came down into the dining room festooned with all my cameras and video equipment.
 
“Where are you going?” asked Carolyn, a tough plain speaking New Yorker, surprised to see me so early and ready for action.
 “I am going to photograph the river. It’s dyed green today.” 
 
 “Too late!” said Carolyn.” It happened last week.”
“But that is impossible! Today is St Patricks Day”
 
 “Yes, but some bigwig politician was in town so they decided to dye the river green a week early for him.”
“But you can’t do things like that!”
 
“We can. This is America.”
So I never did get to see the Chicago River dyed green for St Patrick’s Day.

About the image:
This started out as a drawing of an Irn Bru (Scotland’s national drink, after whisky) bottle, but in the course of a bit of jiggery pokery in the computer i.e. generative art this abstract turned out.
 
Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting abstract Thursday’s challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.