Old Hunstanton

The North Norfolk coast is great if you need the cobwebs clearing. I did.

The weather was a bit different to yesterday’s.

I drove to Old Hunstanton, where the albatross of a writing dilemma was lifted in the Ancient Mariner. Samuel Taylor Coleridge will be laughing in his grave.

On the beach, I walked a million miles to the sea, where some little birds (extra; sanderlings?) made me laugh, scurrying in the shallows.

When I’d passed them, I had a mini plodge – with my shoes on (extra). My feet got wet.

A third of a million miles later, I noticed strange teardrop-shaped things in the sand (extra ; includes shoe print for scale; everything looks weirdly inverted). On closer inspection, they looked like teardrop-shaped snails without the feelers and without the shell.

Two thirds of a million miles later, and I went to a cafe with an extensive vegan menu. It was a lovely little cafe. I had a sandwich, a cup of tea and a slice of cake (extra).

I wanted to buy a fridge magnet; the only shop I knew of was opposite the pub from earlier. It turned out to be a gallery-cum-crafts shop (extras). (It will return to being a gallery-cum-crafts-cum-antiques shop when the renovations are finished.)

I wanted to buy one of the acrylic paintings, but was hampered by not being able to choose which one, the price and Mr Pandammonium’s potential reaction when I got it home. Instead, I bought a postcard fridge magnet with a picture of Old Hunstanton, a notebook with the periodic table on the front, a notebook with the map of the world on the front, four pens, each a different colour and each with a different writing-related slogan on the side, and a reception bell. I used my shopping strategy to decide what to buy.

I drove home and had a cup of tea before going out for my Thursday group run.

All that fresh air and exercise has made me sleepy!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.