Aging

I had a good visit with the nephrologist today.  He is going to ask my insurance to authorize iron infusions so I can stop taking iron pills which cause digestive problems.  He is also going to consult with the medical oncologist following my case to see if she would approve of my having Epo injections (stimulates the production of red blood cells.)  Normally they wouldn't do these in cancer patients, but given the type of tumor I had and the fact that it's been completely removed, it's worth asking if Epo would be safe.  It would help my serious anemia and I'd have more energy.

Afterwards I went over to Lex and Doug's house for some talk and dinner.  It was really enjoyable, and Lex and I discussed what we might do to celebrate my 75th birthday coming up shortly.  We're thinking of a spa day with a nice lunch out; that sounds good to me.

I've suddenly developed painful arthritis in my right wrist, including some overgrowth of bone that wasn't there last week.  Looking at my hands, I could see other signs of advancing arthritis in my fingers; they're beginning to look like my mother's arthritis-deformed hands.  So Lex took a photo of them so I can keep track of the changes in future.  I took a photo of hers as well. Ah the joys of aging!

Tomorrow I will have a follow-up ultrasound of my left arm to see how the fistula is progressing.  I'm hoping for good news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.