Charles V and the Fury

I had a busy long day at the business meeting of an association which my School belongs to, along with two colleagues who are here doing development work for a project that we have ongoing. I caught up with a few people I knew - including my predecessor - and one person who told me that we corresponded by email and spoke on the phone about 20 years ago. I literally have no memory of that!

After the meetings were over, we headed down into the centre of the city and enjoyed a guided tour in the Prado Museum, focused specifically on issues around law and justice. As a colleague commented, we covered most of the subjects on the core law curriculum.... contracts, tort, public law, intellectual property law, laws of war...as well as a fair number of philosophical and political issues. We weren't allowed to take photographs, but no one objected to me photographing this striking statue. I think it has just gone back on display, and the guide told us about how it was available in two versions - naked as it is now, or with Charles V in a suit of armour (as is the case on this official Prado webpage which also says (at the moment) that the statue is not on display). I think she said it was newly redisplayed in that format.

Finally, to a restaurant nearby for a convivial dinner, followed by a nightcap in the hotel bar. It was very much like normal "old" life - although a trifle exhausting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.