RosInAus

By RosInAus

Magical Music

The ancient art of busking began in Medieval times and is alive and well in many cities across the world.

I was in Brisbane this morning and the weather was so extreme - torrential rain had been falling for 16 hours - and Queen Street, usually thronging with shoppers - was virtually deserted. As I hurried towards the railway station I was stopped in my tracks by the uplifting sounds emerging from these youngsters, focused and professional beyond their years. I had tried to take a pic with one hand while holding up my umbrella and juggling my overnight bag, when a smiling woman stepped forward and held her own umbrella over us both - blip!

As we chatted, it turned out that she is the mother of the young boy (13) and the cellist (15 today!) the violinist (left) is their friend, also 15. Though there were few passers-by, most stopped and their gloomy weather expressions lifted as they enjoyed the music. There's something magical about music!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.