The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Everyone's a winner

GG, G, her German friend K and I had lunch in a pub garden today because our three course lunch with S had been postponed, unfortunately. The sun beat down and I bought a newspaper so we could plan our bets for the Cheltenham Gold cup race. (I got most of the best info online, in the end).

Then GG wanted to go to Halford's, and I forced her to go to the bookie's and fill out an actual slip and write on it herself (I know she broke her right wrist nine months ago, but her servants are quitting).

We dropped some books at Oxfam and then drove home to watch the Gold Cup, being joined by CS and our cat Indie. We'd all bet each way on A Plus tard, which came in first at 5/2, ridden expertly by Rachel Blackmoor. Yes, a female jockey brought home a winner in the Gold Cup for the first time! History was made. All eleven runners finished the race.

Tomorrow I'll take our tiny betting slips back and collect our tiny winnings! I'll try and round up some more books for the charity shop, too. I'm trying to stop the house falling down under the accumulated weight of so many books.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.