Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Red Sky at Night

It seems to me that for a great deal of the time since I started blipping I have focused on the weather. I suppose it is a bit of an obsession for me.
My father was a great outdoors man and he used to take us kids away camping. He taught us a great deal about the natural world around us during those times. Birdlife, trees, native plants, the tides, the sea, the night skies, clouds and the weather.
I tried to carry on with his teaching while we were bringing up our own four children. At times I had no idea how many of these tit-bits of knowledge had sunk in. I suppose a lot has as all our offspring have a healthy regard for our environment, some to the extent of being exceedingly "green". Yehah!
This afternoon we had quite a decent shower of rain; not nearly enough but I suppose we must be grateful.
The weather started to clear at sundown and as I drove out to shop I noted the promise of a lovely sunset.
Fergus the dog was with me in the vehicle . He was pleased to get a little bonus walk when we side-tracked to the Taylor River to capture the evening sky. Just as well I had one of my collection of cameras in the vehicle!
So here we have it... Dry fennel framing a nor-west evening sky.....And I could hear my father saying...."Red Sky at Night - Shepherds Delight."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.