Shamrock Shuffle

I'm breaking the Blip rules here as this is not strictly my photo, but I did set up my camera and Tony took it so that's my excuse!

It's been a physical day and I'd done 14 000 steps before ten am.  I walked down to Parkrun with Bev and we set up the course in smashing sunshine.  I was marshalling at the bottom end of the meadow near the river so that added some more distance.

As the Tailwalker disappeared for the fourth time I collected in the cones and we made a speedy exit home as I had a swift turnaround before heading out in my green bowler to take part in the Shamrock Shuffle 5k with Hobbler pals.  It is in aid of a local Sue Ryder Hospice.

It might only be 5k but it is a heck of a course.  We start from the cricket ground down in the village and go uphill steeply for about 2k.  It was tough going and our merry band soon split in to three, with super speedy S running up ahead, followed by WilsdenWalker, neighbour T and I, followed by R and Sy.  It was a relief to reach the apex of the run and 'enjoy' some serious downhill, but my legs were fast turning to jelly possibly because I hadn't sat down since 6am!

We finished in 42 minutes and then heard that pal Sy had had a nasty fall and been taken home, thankfully nurofen, bath, nap and lunch have set her pretty much back to rights.

All returned, we headed back in to the village to Yorkshire Treats to retrieve the box of goodies we had on order and enjoy cuppas, conversation, reliving of runs and much laughter.  Much of the afternoon has been passed processing photos.

PS: I think I'm shrinking.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.