What a Treat!

The sun shone again on my Birthday today.  We were travelling to the Peak District to orienteer at Stanton Moor and I really enjoyed my technical and physical course in the sunshine.  It wasn't error free but it didn't matter, it was fun and I particularly enjoyed weaving through the tents of the Spring Equinox campers and exchanging greetings.  Stanton Moor is home to a number of standing stones and barrows so holds a special significance to those with spiritual beliefs.  It certainly looked to be a great place to be out under the stars in this patch of fine weather we are having.

I came down to earth with a bit of a bump when I went to download, apparently I had missed a control.  Hmmm I took a look back at my map and it dawned on me what might have happened.  I had visited the control but another, faster orienteer arrived at the same time with a contact free SI card.  As I reached for the block, he waved his card over it, I heard several beeps and thought my card had registered, it hadn't.  Well, lesson learned and my enjoyment was not to be dampened, particularly as, due to Covid, I haven't had a veggie chilli taco from Podium Caterers in a couple of years so, as it was my birthday I treated myself to one with extra guacamole AND a hot chocolate with all the trimmings!  A grand day out, and there were presents and cards on the patio and through the letterbox on our return!  Thank you pals xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.