Birthday Blip

I've had a lovely birthday beginning with Tony bringing me breakfast in bed.  I opened my cards and presents whilst catching up with The Archers then did a few jobs before we set off for lunch at Betty's at Harlow Carr.  We had a bit of a wait for a table but that was alleviated by getting in to conversation about outward bound and hillwalking with an elderly chap and his son in the queue behind us.  He and Tony swapped stories of taking groups of young people in to the outdoors.  Before we knew it we were being ushered in to our table and it was a bit of a shame to say goodbye to our queue companions.

As usual, lunch was delicious and we finished off with a vanilla slice for Tony and a raspberry macaron for me, then paid a visit to Betty's shop for a couple of things and had a wander around the garden shop, picking up seeds to add some colour to the mini meadow.

From there it was time to head home, pausing to pick up birdfood from the Blue Barn and some milk from Waitrose then, before I knew it, it was time to meet with the Hobblers for a walk across the moor ending with a drink in the local pub.  Mine was free as it was my birthday!  Smashing to end the day in excellent company, despite all the digs about being elderly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.