Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

A day of contrasts

It is past 1 AM on 20th March as I type this... I should be in bed, but I am building up such a backlog with my blips/comments - it's crazy.

The day began with a trip to a new hairdresser within walking distance from home. The service was adequate, and the result to be seen in a couple of weeks, and I think I might have finally got my root colour job to a more reasonable price. It's the first time I've taken my own dye to be applied!

Back home, there was time to do a few chores and get ready for the SA picnic in the park. Fortunately, the park across the road from us was the venue of choice. G took her garden Ludo game along which was perfect for the kids there (see my extra).

We had to leave early as an ex-colleague invited me/us to her daughter's wedding! It was at the Hilton near the canal. As you can see, it was a grand affair with professional entertainers. We got to sit next to our friend Shiro (also an ex-colleague), whom I hadn't seen since my 50th birthday four years ago! Yikes!

Whilst clearing the table, a waiter dropped a knife on me. It was a genuine mistake, but the problem was the knife had red pasta sauce on it! I had red blobs all down the right sleeve of my white jacket. Argh! The incident quickly escalated to a supervisor who got approval from the laundry to have the stain removed there and then (hence the pic of me without it), so I came home with a drycleaned jacket! That was the best service I got from the hotel all evening.

We dropped Shiro home (in Al Barsha) before finally getting home not too long after midnight. And then we had a cup of tea. GK over and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.