Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was another beautiful day!  Each time I go out now, I see more signs of spring. :-)  I rode 26 miles, mostly over rutted dirt roads.  I could probably ride twice as far on paved roads and not be as tired, but it was worth it to get back up into the foothills.

I'll start with my extras.  I asked the artist (first extra) if it was okay to photograph him and his painting and I really like the way it turned out.  I liked the view in the second one and you can see where I was riding in the lower foothills in front of the bigger mountains.  The third is my Silly Saturday blip, in memory of Admirer.  The homeowner was outside and told me to come back in a few days and "Santa" would be dressed for spring.  Stay tuned for that one. :-)

Top Row:           Great Blue Heron taking off.  These birds are about 4 feet tall and have a wingspan of about 6 feet.
                             Texas Longhorn.  He's been blipped before, but he was posing so nicely, I couldn't resist.
                             Juvenile Bald Eagle

Middle:                Northern Shoveler
                             Bald Eagle, so majestic in the sunshine!
                             There were probably 50 grazing sheep and this was the only one who looked up.  S/he had the best coloring anyway. :-)

Bottom:               The ubiquitous Red-tailed Hawk
                              The first calf I've seen this year.  Not the best shot, but I had to record it. :-)
                              Mr. & Mrs. GBH, both staring out at the beautiful view.  Unlike some other birds, the male is the larger one.

This is my first collage in a while that is all birds and animals.  That makes me happy!  I'm hoping for many more in the near future.  I'll have to wait until after the next snow in the forecast for Monday.  I heard on the news today that we have had snow at least every 8 days since the first of the year.  It's got to end sometime...

I am grateful that Becky still wants advice from her mom.  This morning she called me to help her brainstorm a situation at work. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.