Meandering Forth from Dumyat

It's another beautiful day so we set off to climb Dumyat (Dum-eye-at). This is the hill at the western end of the Ochil range and it dominates the Stirling landscape. A few years ago a path was laid on the most popular route. It's only 418 m (1,371 ft) so not a big climb and it's very popular. The path was busy with walkers of all ages, runners, mountain bikers and dogs. You get a great view from the top but the wind was chilly there so we didn't linger. It was nice to sit on the memorial bench for a much loved member of staff at my former employer.

I had a reason for tackling Dumyat today as I'll be doing it again next week for reasons which will doubtless feature on blip. Next time I do it I have to take a horse with me. Not a life sized one thank goodness.

The blip is the River Forth meandering its way to the sea. I'd always thought these meanders are called the Links of Forth - can anyone confirm? The flat Carse of Stirling is fertile agricultural land.

Home now and time for some cooking, baking and domestic stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.