BVFL33

By BVFL33

A Day That Changed My Life

Today is my late father's birthday and one I always mark.He died aged 50..In 2003 two countries joined forces to invade another, no reason just lies .One was UK . I went there with a group of journalists and worked with nuns  in Bagdad.. While the UK press churned out propaganda I was in a secular country where Islam, Judaism and Christianity functioned together. The main image is of a very sick child The sanctions imposed on Iraq after the Gulf war included some medications that were not dual function. Result no treatment for this curable form of malaria.& Basra was very much infected .As a group we took some .and gave to a wonderful paediatrician .The young boy befriended me .He had severe orthopaedic issues .As for the sisters .They never left when, on March 20th 2003 bombing began with 3000 per night . They remained in Bagdad with all the children in the orphanage.Courage and care..I shall say more this week with photos .Dad was a man with principles and I know how he would feel about this sick trumped up invasion .Sure the troops have left but the western oil companies are doing well whilst  the country is left in a mess . Germany , France and many other countries refused to enter into this .They were proven right .There were no mass destruction weapons . No surprises .Worse still no charges  ever brought for a preemptive strike . Numerous  civilian  deaths 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.