Tel's Blips

By TerryS365

Day-Glo

Early this morning before the dark clouds and heavy rain arrived I took the new Olympus 60mm macro lens into Osborne House glasshouse to see how it performs.

On processing the 40 close up and macro pictures back home I can only say this lens is stunning giving superb colours and sharpness. The Raw files show an amazing amount of detail. Combined with the EM-5 camera it makes for a small light combination and auto focuses right down to 1:1 magnification something the Nikon 105mm will not do.

It's early days yet and I need to use it a lot more but am already wondering whether it could replace the Nikon macro.

This is one of several shots I wanted to blip, I believe this is a Bromeliad ( please correct me if wrong) one of many on the greenhouse shelves. The diffused backlight from the window behind gave it a glow as though it was lit from within. I mounted the camera onto a mono-pod and the superb Olympus anti shake Image Stabilisation kept the image sharp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.