Sebulon

By sebrose

Nitin Sawhney

Another day, another gig.

I received a cryptic text from Alan yesterday. Over the day I sent several replies to it, trying to decide its meaning. The penny finally dropped at two in the morning, when Em said that she’d like to see Nitin Sawhney when he comes to play Edinburgh.

“That’s tomorrow night” says I. “Alan has a spare ticket for me.” We went online and got a ticket for Em too.

So, late afternoon I cycle (still hungover) to Paulswell. Alan and Sandra drive us into town and a posse of seven or so, including Niall and his neighbour Caroline, pile into the Mosque Kitchen for a wholesome plate of curry and rice.

At the Queens Hall there’s plenty of space. The support act is Natty, who’s entertaining and original. He doesn’t talk much, which is fine, and his songs have rhythm, melody and depth.

Then it’s Nitin and band. They are AMAZING. I have a slight recollection of one of his albums from the late nineties/early noughties, but nothing to prepare me for the sheer variety and quality of tonight’s tunes. He played material from across his back catalogue and every band member excelled!

In the photo, Natty is far right. He joined fire a couple of songs that he’d come-written with Nitin. Unseen, even further right, is the tabla player - who laid down incredible rhythms and was a joy to watch.

I’ve cycled back home, brewing a cup of sleepy-time tea, before heading for a well earned kip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.