Basking

On such a beautiful day Bella and Harriet decided to come down to the canal and bask in the sunshine. They had found a little pontoon by a lock gate, down a ladder all nice and quiet. Until a Blipper arrived on his bike and called down to them asking for a photo. 

They agreed and I climbed down the ladder to get a picture. They explained that they both live in apartments at Hackney Wick. Bella on the left is an artist and Harriet a goldsmith who makes jewelry. They told me that basking in the sun never fails to make them feel happy. I can understand and I applauded them for their clever choice of sundeck.

And as it’s World Poetry Day apparently, here’s my contribution -

I cycled down to Hackney Wick,
Going at a fair old lick,
I thought that if I went down the canal,
I might find a photo that wasn’t banal.

Arriving at Fish Island lock,
I looked down and got quite a shock,
There Were two women basking in the sun,
Chatting away and having fun.

One looked up and so I asked her,
Can I pop down the ladder?
I assured her I would be careful and make sure not to slip,
But they were ideal candidates for my mono Monday Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.