misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

13 April Snow Showers. Elf update tomorrow

While cleaning rooting around behind the apple tree trunk in the living room corner I discovered this blooming bromiliad. It was just a tiny shoot a couple years ago when a nice relative living on the US Gulf Coast pulled it out of the 6 foot tall and wide shrub she grew by her back door. Really! And gave me two to take home to where it is perpetually cold and full of Yankees. (That is the southern branch of the family's universal view of where I live).
I have two full pots of the plant inside now and admit I neglected them during the bathroom renovation because all the furniture was piled in their corner and I could not reach any of the plants to water them. Surprise! Here is the first bright pink shoot with closed blossoms ready to be blipped today. The plants get many more and the flowers last a long time. Last year they were outside on the sunny deck at this time... sigh...
Also, I just looked at my teenage niece's FB page (she sends me all her adolescent trash communications and pictures so I can keep up with her life... sigh.... She and her girl friends are over at her aunt's house in front of the big blooming bromiliad bush Whacking one another with long pink flower stalks... there are so many what else would they do with them? Young idiots... and she used to be such a perfectly sweet and sane child. And God created hormones... on which Day was that?
The radio claims that we are getting "snow showers" this afternoon/evening. We have already had 6 inches of rain and the river has started flooding. No problem, I live a block away on an incline.
Elf report tomorrow, such as it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.