Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Perched

Back Blip

I took advantage of a fine, sunny day to walk another stretch of the Forth and Clyde Canal as part of the Scottish Canal's Canal Challenge 200. I started by driving to Kilsyth and then getting a bus to Bishopbriggs. A stop first for a fine cup of coffee and a scone (well, some things just have to be done!) before making my way down to the Canal and starting my eastwards amble back to Kirkintilloch. At the end of my walk at Hillhead Basin, which was only about four miles, I had only about five minutes to wait to get a bust back to Kilsyth. Result!

On the approach to Kirkintilloch I spotted a large bird on a tree (see extra) and zoomed in to see what it was. I was surprised to see it was a juvenile cormorant (main photo). I am more used to seeing these nearer the water's edge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.