Cold crops

Before we went to WV I bought some plants. I had also started some sweet peas and they were about 3' tall. I planted some cabbage and broccoli in the garden...they survived even thought the row covers blew off. Did not thrive. I put some in my clod frame...they did great. I left some on the enclosed porch with low heat...they also did great. Only the ones planted in the garden were watered. It was just a test to see what worked. Today we stopped at the Amish greenhouse and bought cauliflower and 2 types of lettuce. I'll keep them in the shade until they harden off then they will go in the garden as well. One of the mated 
osprey that nest in our nest box returned today. They made a strong comeback from DDT. I hope the Ukraine people will be able to make a comeback as well.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.