IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

My first orchid!

This is my first ever attempt to grow an orchid ... and it is about to flower :-)

It is small, only about 6 inches tall at the moment, but very pretty ... I hope you will agree :-)

Wiki says the following:

Pleione formosana (Taiwan pleione or windowsill orchid) is a species of flowering plant in the Orchidaceae family, native to southeastern China as well as northern and central Taiwan. It is a deciduous perennial, terrestrial orchid growing to 15 cm (6 in) tall by 30 cm (12 in) wide, with spherical pseudobulbs that produce a single folded leaf. The pink flowers, borne in Spring, have fringed white lips that are strongly marked and mottled with brown on the inner surface.

Otherwise, I've been busy doing a stock check of all the trees and shrubs in the back garden. I'll return to that another day. Pouring with rain outside now .... staying indoors now.

Just realised from this photo .... I have GREENFLY!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.