Dunnottar Castle

For five decades I have wondered what Dunnottar Castle was like. I went to a school called Dunnottar (not a very happy experience) and, given it was in darkest Surrey, I have absolutely no idea why this name was chosen for it.

Anyway, the castle is suitably impressive, sitting on a huge lump of pudding stone (a conglomerate rock full of lumpy boulders and pebbles), with a fair number of steps down and then up to it. In its time it was hugely important but after its last owner sided with the Jacobites it went to the Crown. By that point (1719) it was little used by the Earl anyway but it slid into decline and its now a very picturesque landmark. I wonder what it's original owners would think of that. William Wallace is said to have managed to slip in the posterngate, Mary Queen of Scots and Elizabeth I both stayed there, as did Charles II ...

A lazy morning before going down here. We are staying at Stonehaven and had a wander (limp) along the front. Some excellent waves pounding on the shingle beach (extra) although I don't think Berry much liked the noise of the drag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.