Spring Work

Sent out minutes to the FoHK committee.  Wrote a letter about the management of three museums in Rackwick.  Phoned a proposed insurer – my quote was promised ‘within 24 hours’ – 96 hours later and it’s still not arrived.  Don’t get me started on Bernard Breslaw. Whilst James was at the ploughing I met his grandfather, Jimmy, 87 now and really struggling with ‘Farmer’s Lung’.  I went into the byre with him to get a shot of a broom – someone had left shards of glass on the road.  Earlier, on my breakaway stravaig, I met Brenda.  I hadn’t seen her for a while.  Charlie the postie past us as we chatted.  Charlie then went the other way and just shook his heid, jealous that we had time to chat.  I met Kathleen who said she had been trying to photograph the hares boxing in our field.  Larks were rising, dunnocks called their scratchy territorial note, distant long tailed ducks trumpeted on the Flow, ravens croaked, pipits pipited.  On the way home I chatted to Carla.  I had plenty of news for CMC when she returned from badminton.  I did some work on the soil in the tunnel and then started weeding one of the borders.  I just don’t know how I keep up this pace. However, it all counts towards my Community Payback. My box set of ‘Escape to the Pantry’ arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.