Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Crop Raiders

A glorious day, I even zipped off the legs of my convertible walking trousers in the afternoon as we walked on Cannock Chase.

Earlier L had given Meg a short ride and exercise.  I went with them as we are unsure whether she might have some sight problems; she seems to spook without warning and will often stare at things, making us think she can't work out what it might be.  My presence walking alongside is to give her confidence, though when she spooked at a pheasant in the undergrowth I wouldn't have liked to be underneath her hooves when they came down together next to my feet!

On the edge of the stables land is the Teddesley Estate and this field with a crop growing fast.  It is also where this large her of fallow deer seem to have taken up almost permanent residence.  This is only a small part of the herd which must be over 100 strong.  Can't quite believe the farmer hasn't tried some deterrents to protect his crop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.