The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Territorial Squirmishes - Freiston Shore

One last visit to Freiston Shore this evening. I might go down before breakfast tomorrow, but only if I wake up. It was howling a gale there and the light was pants so I contented myself in trying to get some behavioural shots of the Black-headed Gulls before I leave them. I am going to miss the breeding colony this year as we won't be back here until they have come and gone.

There is plenty of jostling for position on the available nesting sites, and every so often a fight would break out. I managed to get the start of one here. Spent the rest of the time bird watching. Quite a few Goldeneye there and Avocets, one Ringed Plover flew in, but stayed too far away to photograph. A huge skein of Brent Geese dropped in, which is always noisy and spectacular, and not a bad way to end three rather good days of birding up here in Lincolnshire.

Time to go home tomorrow ... time to catch up with what's arrived at Newport Wetlands!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.