This is the day

By wrencottage

William Morris' Grave

This morning I went to have a follow-up appointment with my audiologist, and I set off to walk there in glorious sunshine. After a helpful chat and a few ‘tweaks’ of the technology, I retraced my steps, looking for blips on the way. 

I stopped off at the churchyard in front of St. Mary’s Church, South Woodford, to take this photo of the grave of William Morris. Not, as you might imagine, the eminent Arts & Crafts movement member, but actually his father, a wealthy financier who lived nearby in the Georgian Italianate mansion called Woodford Hall, surrounded by 50 acres of land adjacent to Epping Forest. William Morris senior died unexpectedly in 1847 at the age of 43 and Woodford Hall was sold, the family moving to the smaller Water House (now The William Morris Gallery) at Walthamstow. Water House is huge, so Woodford Hall must have been massive!. It was demolished in 1900.

In the extras are a plaque on the Woodford Memorial Hall (next to the church), built in 1902, and a superb magnolia tree in a front garden further along en route.

PS I forgot to mention that I managed to complete today's Wordle in two attempts, all down to a lucky first guess which gave me two letters in the correct place. First time I've ever managed that. I wonder if any blippers have actually had a 'hole in one' with Wordle?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.