A Walk in Hamilton Wood

Just a wee flavour of our walk today. Hamilton Wood is just a mile or so outside the village and there is only parking space for two cars, at the side of the road.
It was ages since we’d been here and there were lots of changes, particularly fallen trees. It was also possible to reach the old derelict cottage at the edge of the wood. We checked out the part of the wood that the badgers use and found some new sets. Geordie had a good sniff and look around. I think we would both have jumped and ran if a badger had appeared.
We raised a buzzard close to the burn. I don’t know who got the biggest surprise. There was lots of birdsong, far more than in the wood we usually walk in. I was amazed to see so many ladybirds on gorse. I hadn’t expected them to be able to navigate all the needles, but each bush had about 6-8 ladybirds. Learning all the time. I read for some of the afternoon, then went out to the garden. I sawed up the old wooden bird table which was way past its best and been repaired too many times. Then loaded it and the other spare bits of wood into the car ready to take to the dump.
Next I marked off the other sides of the grass and cut the turf ready for lifting.
A good day was had by Geordie and myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.