Beinghere

By Beinghere

The Dunes

I had a great video chat with Kirsty this morning, and feel all the better for it.
Then it was off to the woods.  Today we walked in the opposite direction from our usual heading and carried on along past the dunes and down to the beach.  It`s was a bit windy, and cooler than it`s been, but still dry and good for walking.  Although there were 6 cars in the carpark we met no-one.  My kind of walk.  On the beach we could see a couple in the distance, but still about half a mile away.  When we were coming around the dunes Geordie couldn`t resist sliding down for a drink from the burn.  It`s getting back up the dune again that`s the hard part.

When we got home I could see the bird table before I got out the car, and for an instant thought "oh great the birds are back".  But I was wrong!

A few years ago I had to stop feeding the birds because my neighbour complained that birds were flying over his garden!!!  It proved impossible to reason with him and since there had been other issues, for the sake of peace and quiet, I relented and stopped feeding the birds.
This neighbour passed away a few weeks ago so I stocked up on bird food of every variety and was excited to feed the birds again.  However, the birds are either in the huff with me, or have just not noticed there is food out for them.

So, today what I was seeing on the bird table was a RAT.  I`m not a fan!  (Huge understatement).
I walked up the garden, until I was just a few feet from the bird table, took out my phone and took a picture of him.  He just looked at me and carried on eating.  He didn`t run off until I clapped my hands.  Three times since I have gone out and chased him off the table.  He`s certainly persistent.  I tried to get Geordie to chase him off at one point, but Geordie couldn`t see him and the rat couldn`t care less.  Aaaaargh!!!

Mice I can deal with humanely, allowing them to run free again several miles from here.  But Rats are a different story.  I have not a clue what to do about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.